Poem a Day, Saturday

A One Week Poetry Challenge
(An April challenge to write and post a poem a day for a week, as hosted by Two Writing Teachers)

I began this Week in Poetry Challenge with a hyperlinked poem and so I guess I should end it on the same note. I took a short poem cycle that I wrote for my students and went into the site called Hypertextopia to investigate its possibilities for hyperlinked composition.

The result is something I am calling Writing is a Voyage, which is a collection of poems about the act of writing and teaching writing to my students.

In the interest of sharing, I am including the full opening poem here, too.

Writing is a Voyage
(dedicated to my students)

Listen to the Poem as Podcast

I stand in front of the classroom
pen in hand
and think out loud in concrete thoughts
as my mind wanders
in couplets and rhyme
and dangles downward
in acrostic fashion.
Sometimes, I strap them into the seat
with the 5-7-5 seatbelts of a haiku
and other times, I present them with the rare diamond
of the cinquain.
They are richer than their dreams
although few may realize it
until years later
when I am an old man with a cane
and a mouth full of knowledge.
I know my students often think me full of nonsense
but I can’t help myself:
I am someone who writes
and I want them to compose their lives, too,
so I urge them on
and find new paths to explore,
new doors to open,
and then give them a gentle push
into unknown terrain of their mind.
The ideas will be their fortification
on this personal journey.
May they go with the grace of words.

Here is a screenshot of my poem in Hypertextopia (and you can click on the image to bring you to the actual poem, too)


Peace (in poetry),
Kevin

8 Comments
  1. These poems remind me of the HyperStudio/HyperCard programs. I always expect to get a definition when I click on a word and am pleasantly surprised to find another poem instead. Thanks for introducing me to this interactive type of poetry. I also like the linking of the idea of a journey to the writing of poetry.

  2. I love it (of course)! I still haven’t had time to try my hand at something like this — it’s still grant-writing season, after all — but I really want to give it a try. Thanks for sharing so many wonderful poems this week, Kevin!

  3. Thank you all.
    It’s great to see folks getting interested in the possibilities of this kind of composition.
    I always suggest you give it a go yourself first, before moving it into the classroom.
    Kevin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *