Three Tech Tools for the One-Computer Classroom

 

This weekend, I am heading down to Birmingham, Alabama, to give a keynote address to a conference hosted by the Red Mountain Writing Project. The conference centers around the Common Core, 21st Century learning and more. I have been asked to also lead a short session that shares out some tools that teachers in a one-computer classroom might find valuable. While I am fortunate to have access to a cart of PCs on a regular basis (though they are aging now and showing their age), I realize that a lot of teachers must make do with a single computer.

It’s difficult to fully embraced digital literacy if that is your situation.

Anyway, here is the handout for the three tools that I want to share with teachers that I think could have an impact on a classroom: Cinch, Wallwisher and Make Beliefs Comix. (I also went for “free” since I assumed paying for something would be out of the question).
Three Free Tools for the One Computer Classroom

What would you put on your list?

Peace (in the sharing),
Kevin

 

One Comment
  1. I’ve tried to think through all that we did in the online tools class, but for one computer, I think I’d still use Diigo so I could directly give some sites for students to use, and give instructions. We loved Popplet too, but it’s similar to Wallwisher. One more: how about bubbl.us for brainstorming?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *