Slice of Life: Quidditch Comes Around Again

Fellow Slice of Lifers from the past know that March and April mean Quidditch at our elementary school. In about three or four weeks, we hold an entire day of Quidditch for the four sixth grade classes, using rules first invented by a student and refined over the years by other students and teachers.

My homeroom class color is blue, and the names that the class comes up with usually is associated with blue and/or cold. Yesterday afternoon, we launched into the collaborative discussion around names. They brainstormed as many cool names for our team as they could, and then we went through an entire election process — sort of like a presidential primary but without the negative ads. And no Super Pacs either. As far I know, no money was pushed under the table.

In about 30 minutes of fun and heated discussions, and after three rounds of voting, the majority arrived at this year’s team name.

Our Name is Permafrost!

A few were wondering just what permafrost is, even though they liked the sound of the name. I guess a little science lesson is in order, eh? The photo here shows the way voting took place, and how we ended up with our consensus. Next step? Coming up with an icon for our class team that represents Permafrost.
permafrost quidditch
And so we’re off into Quidditch season …

Peace (and magic),
Kevin
PS – and this is how we play our version of Quidditch!

7 Comments
  1. Ha. I like your very democratic way of handling this. I truly wish I could be there to see Quidditch day. That is something my students would just love.

  2. Awesome! I knew there were official Quidditch leagues for colleges, but didn’t realize anyone had adapted it for elementary school. My sons are so jealous!

  3. I love “Permafrost” for a team name! (I have to admit, though, that “Penguins Paradise” appeals, too. With that one, you could have had a cool theme song using “Gangsters Paradise”!)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *