Slice of Life: That Ol’ Ball Game

It’s funny. One theme that DID not come up in my Slice of Life challenge with Two Writing Teachers as a topic last month was youth baseball, which has been a consistent topic to write about over the last few years as I help one or more of my sons’ Little League baseball teams, and all that begins in March. I usually write about the evaluation day, and then the team lottery, and more. But this year, I got sidetracked with other topics.

Last night, our team came together for the very first practice of the year. It was a chilly but mostly sunny evening, and after introductions and a little team history (we were the “the little team that could” last year when a mediocre regular season turned into one of those magical runs in the playoffs that landed us in the championship game that went into an unprecedented extra innings — we finally lost, but what a game!).

It’s too early say how this team will come together this season but the older kids (including my son) are anxious to get things going (he and I have been throwing a ball around for weeks now) and already began to emerge last  night as leaders with the younger kids, who are nervous about moving up to this level with faster pitching and quicker bats. We spent much of the night allowing them all a chance to bat, and hit, and have fun.

Our head coach gave out a clear message: “We’re going to work on skills so you can improve your game but we’re going to have fun. And if you feel like we’re not having fun, you need to let me know so us coaches can make some changes.” And he is serious. Serious about fun. We’ll see how it goes. All I know is that the crack of the bats and the pounding of the ball in the gloves is as much a signal of Spring as those flowers trying to work their way up to the sun.

Peace (on the field),
Kevin

 

9 Comments
  1. Yes, the reappearance of bats and gloves is a sure sign of spring. Years ago, and many computers ago, I drafted a short story about little league baseball loosely based on my experiences as a mom / wife of a coach. I think I will try to find it and work on it! PS I SURE hope you coach remains serious about the fun all season long!

  2. I have been following my grandson’s experiences this spring, too. They’ve had some good times with the games & one evidently heartbreaker (according to him). It sounds like the coach is great. He sends an e-mail after every game giving one compliment to each player. My son says he sees the coach taking notes all through the games. These are ten year olds & it’s the first time with pitchers, etc. Thanks for telling about your time too. Baseball just started here in Denver too-opening day. Everyone is all a-twitter!

  3. Kevin,
    My son’s baseball practices just started up as well…I hadn’t been to any of the practices until last week…He’s only 7 but the coaches have their work cut out for them, making our boys into baseball players..they were digging in the dirt, playing dirt tag and just chatting it up-their kind of fun!
    I hope your son’s coaches keep their promise…
    Best wishes for a great season!

  4. My favorite part of baseball was definitely tee ball. I found that stage of development so entertaining. Kids digging, twirling, and running the wrong direction. So cute!

    My sons are firmly in baseball season now, too. The older one is starting to show signs of not enjoying it as much, but I hope that once he gets into the “swing of things’ (Oh yeah, I went for the pun) that he’ll be happy with it again.

  5. You make a mom of grown children long for “the good ol’ days” of following them through seasons of sports. I wish you lots of fun and more good memories – like a “mediocre regular season turned into one of those magical runs in the playoffs …” This makes me smile.

  6. Softball is quite serious in our town so I worry about the end of the fun factor too. Here’s hoping it’s a joyful adventure this season for all our kiddoes!

  7. All I know is that the crack of the bats and the pounding of the ball in the gloves is as much a signal of Spring as those flowers trying to work their way up to the sun.

    The “crack of the bats” “pounding of the ball”, I felt like I was on the field hearing the first sign of spring. Loved it.
    My nine year old daughter is playing on a girls softball team, after two years with only boys in Little League. Love the spring as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *