Poems with Bud: Mobius Strip Moment

This morning, Bud the Teacher had an image for poetry that had me thinking. It showed a mother and child, standing in front of a picture of a woman, and a man is off to the wide of the frame, looking in. I had this sensation of everyone looking for everyone else, but in different realities (including the photographer), and that reminded me of a Mobius Strip.
Here’s what I wrote:

I’m the guy in the corner of the frame

looking in on the scene

as the photographer snaps the shot

from the other side of the room.

 

Together, we form a bit of symmetry,

dancing along this Mobius Strip of

me

watching the

camera

watching the

woman

watching the

child

watching the

photographer

watching

me out of the corner of his eye,

even as

She

eats her breakfast in the perfect silence

of the

Still Life

hanging on the wall.

And the podcast:

Peace (in the frame),
Kevin

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *