Our Digital Media Lives as Similes

My Media Life
(My Media Life Simile)

One of the many excellent activities that you can find in the CommonSense Media Digital Citizenship Curriculum (free!) is a short activity that I find very powerful. It asks students to consider their own media lives and to create/draw a simile to explain how they feel about the flow of media and technology in their lives. For some of my sixth graders, this gives them a chance to step back and view their relationship through another kind of lens.

Here are some samples from this past week, all of which led to discussions in class.

My Media Life 201410

My Media Life 20146

My Media Life 201411

My Media Life 20145

My Media Life 20149

Peace (like a river),
Kevin

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *