Digital Poetry: A Soundscape Poem

digipoetry2015

If you have been reading what I have been up to the last few days, I have been working out a poem, from draft to beyond, and this morning, I want to share a “soundscape” version of my poem. I used Freesound Music to gather up sounds of a walk to a beach, and then used Audacity to stitch them all together.

Take a listen:

Now, if you go directly to Soundcloud, you can see a little better how I layered the words of the poem into the audio file, so that as you listen, the poem comes forth as a comment overlay to the soundscape. Here is a push into digital poetry, where words and audio move into each other, making the poetic experience for both the reader/listener and the writer/composer something a bit different.

I hope you enjoy the poem as soundscape …

Peace (listen),
Kevin

One Comment
  1. It’s wonderous, Kevin! I loved how the bird song shifted and how grasshopper or crickets buzzed along the plank plunk, plunk until the walked crossed the sand and entered or skirted along the water. What a rich soundscape! I watched the words come in on Soundcloud–neat layering. Beautifully crafted, Kevin.

    Lee Ann

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *