Mixing up the Soundscapes


For the second Learning Event for a project called Hear My Home, the facilitators referenced composer John Cage’s use of audience as musical composition, and suggested we try to capture the ambient nature of our world. I decided to head off in a slightly other direction, taking the four sounds that I had created and shared in the first Learning Event, and remixing them into a song of sorts.

I added in some bass and some drums, and then cut up one of the sounds (basketball game) into pieces, allowing them to filter into the mix of the dog walking, the coffee making and the guitar chords I was tinkering with one day.

This is what I ended up with:

Peace (in the underlying beats of the world),
Kevin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *