Slice of Life: Where’s Your Jacket?

(This is for the Slice of Life challenge for March, hosted by Two Writing Teachers. We are writing each day about the small moments in the larger perspective … or is that the larger perspective in the smaller moments? You write, too.)

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

“Is it in your desk?”

“I don’t know. Maybe.”

“Well, was it in your desk when you left school?”

“I don’t think so.”

“Is your desk even big enough to hold it?”

“No.”

“Why didn’t you say that when I asked, then? How about your locker? Was it in there?”

“I don’t know.”

<grumble>

“Did you use your locker yesterday? Before you came home?”

“Yeah. I think.”

“When you looked,” voice slowing down to ensure comprehension, enunciating each syllable, “was it in there?”

“Maybe.”

<grumblegrumble>

“So, you have no idea where it is? No idea?”

<silence>

“?”

“?”

Peace (gone missing),
Kevin

6 Comments
  1. Ah….frustration! Love the voice slowing down to ensure comprehension, enunciating every syllable! Not sure if you are the praying-to-the -saints type, but I’ve always found St. Anthony to help out a lot when things are lost! 🙂

  2. So much comes through in this dialogue exchange! A goal of writing is to have the reader picture the scene in their mind as they read the words. My picture is crystal clear!! As Kathleen mentioned, St. Anthony has helped me find LOADS of lost items! Fingers crossed it shows up. (And actually, a bit grateful its disappearance allowed for this fun piece of writing!)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *