Slice of Life: One Man Voting

(This is for the Slice of Life challenge for March, hosted by Two Writing Teachers. We are writing each day about the small moments in the larger perspective … or is that the larger perspective in the smaller moments? You write, too.)

sol16

I walked in, unenrolled. Walked out, unenrolled. In between, I was a Republican, not for the first time ever but I can truthfully say, not very often, either. I wanted to lodge a protest vote in our Primary Elections, as some sort of individual counter to the Trump push.

So, I voted for Kasich, who at least has a positive message even if he has no chance at all in gaining the nomination of his party. And I can’t say I agree with him on many issues, either. He just seemed like the only one on the GOP ticket that I could vote for with any kind of good conscience.

Turns out, my protest vote didn’t matter much. Our liberal New England state’s Republicans, often seen as moderates on the local and national stage, went all-out for Trump, too, with 49 percent of the vote. Kasich came in distant second, however, so that’s something.

Strange days …

Peace (in the vote),
Kevin

9 Comments
  1. Good for you for voting and making your voice count. As a registered Independent in Maine, I’m not able to vote in primaries or caucuses. I’m not sure what I would have done anyway. These are troubling times indeed…

  2. Strange days indeed! In Virginia, we can vote in either primary. I thought about doing that…I kind of wish I had. Trump won here with a narrow margin. Strange times…

  3. So many ways to have our voices heard- yet still, we question if anyone is listening (or at least I do). I hope people always exercise their right to vote.

  4. I made the exact same choice here in Virginia. I felt less invested in which candidate wins the Democratic nomination. But the Republican candidate? That one mattered to me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *