Six Word Slice of Life: All-Star

(For this month’s Slice of Life Challenge with Two Writing Teachers, I am aiming to do Six Word Slices most days, with some extended slices on other days.)

Six Word SOL Track Star

Context: My high school senior son was presented with the coach’s Most Valuable Player award at his Indoor Track Team’s ceremonies last night, for being a leader on the team and for volunteering to do events, and then excelling at them, to help his team win. (He now holds the school record for Long Jump, even though he is a relay sprinter).

Peace (and pride),
Kevin

 

14 Comments
  1. OK. Neat idea. I have such trouble getting things down to just 6 words. I’m going to try a few of these.

    Just six words.
    Hard to do!

  2. Congratulations to your son! That’s exciting. I love the six-word memoir idea. The image is perfect. Hmmm…thinking about how I could use this form.

  3. Love this idea and what practice you will have after 31 days of 6 words. YET, I fear that it may be harder than it looks!

    Love the picture and the 6 word SOL together!!!
    🙂

  4. Congratulations to your son, and on capturing the achievement succinctly. Looking forward to more “brief” Slices on this page!

  5. So cool, Kevin! Congrats to your son! I’ve been a track coach for longer than I’ve been in the classroom so I salute you both! And the 6 word solution for this challenge is an excellent option. So wonderful to find a familiar face out here.

  6. I’ve done six word stories before, but never with a picture. I love this format! And congrats to your all-star son! And his proud dad!!1 Cherish these moments- they go so fast!

  7. Congrats to your son – such a #ProudParentMoment. Your 6 words were power-packed and summed everything up beautifully. I’m a first time #SOLC slicer, and am gathering all the unique slicing ideas I can find. This is going on my list for sure. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *