Slice of Life: Finding Your Center

(This is for the Slice of Life challenge, hosted by Two Writing Teachers. We write on Tuesdays about the small moments in the larger perspective … or is that the larger perspective in the smaller moments? You write, too.)

The ending of the school year often brings some interesting projects for students, and our gym teacher, Jim, has invited in an outside archery education group to work with our sixth graders this week. It’s pretty cool to walk into the gym and see the line of kids hard at work, learning how to draw a bow and how to eye a target.

Jim at Archery in PE Class

And the group’s motto — Find Your Center — gives a hint about how they connect archery to paying attention to the body, and paying attention to the spirit, and the need to find calm in the moment of life’s crazy times. Just before you shoot, time stands still as you slow your breathing and ready your arrow, and then you release the arrow towards the target.

Finding Your Center is a good saying to have in your head as transitions loom (as they do for our kids, moving out of an elementary school into a middle school).

Find your center. I like that.

Peace (soaring forward),
Kevin

10 Comments
  1. These lines really spoke to me: “Just before you shoot, time stands still as you slow your breathing and ready your arrow, and then you release the arrow towards the target.” They remind me of the recent Poets & Writers prompt to write in response to the word “interstice”–the “small space between things or a break between events.” There’s such potential in these moments. I love the richness of your posts, Kevin. I always leave with thoughts percolating. Thanks!

  2. Truly, I want to be a student in your school. What amazing experiences you provide for them with connections and takeaways, as well. We ALL need to find and focus on our centers so MUCH of the year–not just now–love this!

  3. I recall participating in archery long ago in high school. I loved it! So your post brought me back and reminded me of the importance of slowing down and breathing before taking action.

  4. I needed to read this post today, as I am having trouble finding my center five days into summer break. More breathing, less doing, I think.

  5. I definitely like this comparison of archery to finding your center, Kevin. I remember taking archery in my high school days but I never made that connection. Well done!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *