Idea to Image to Poem to Song

A Divided Writer

I put out a call to some friends yesterday to visualize their digital writing, but without words. I was curious to what folks might do. Mine is above. As Terry, and then Anna, and then Sheri, shared their ideas, I started to think of how I might interpret their designs through poem and song. This part of an extended conversation about writing digitally (and you are invited). We are using the hashtag #modigiwri (more digital writing) on Twitter.

I first used Sheri, Anna and Terry’s images for poems, adding words as a layer of interpretation, and then moved into capturing what I was seeing in their art into short song loops. It’s a musical interpretation of a visual idea about a writing concept.

Which was an intriguing process, of looking deep into the images and trying to figure out, how do you capture an idea in music? I hope these three friends find my attempt interesting.

For Terry

  • Evocation: Contemplative, slow moving forward, junction points, pause

For Anna

  • Evocation: Sinking, Drum Circles, building towards a smaller center, outer lines moving inward, tension

For Sheri

  • Evocation: curiosity, celebration, maps with dotted lines, choices, convergence

If you share your image, I’ll do my best to do the same for you.

Peace (in sounds of static),
Kevin

 

One Comment
  1. Hi Kevin,

    I have been trying to reach out to you regarding a poem you had posted which I would love to incorporate as part of a project installation in Vancouver. If you can get back to me via email or phone that would be wonderful!

    Thank you,
    judy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *