You Days in a Haiku

Some wonderful syllables came my way this week as we transformed Days in a Sentence into Days in a Haiku. Thanks to everyone who took the plunge. And here is a gift for all of you: a GeoGreeting, which spells out words based on images from Google Earth.

And now — your haikus:

Paul is seeking some company.

Found a hotel room
To NECC and DC I go
Split the cost with me?

Wow. sara actually had a student wonder about what is it like to teach (actually, I have a group of students planning a teach the teacher day(s) event and it has been interesting to listen to them talking about how a kid takes over the room).

twelve-year-old students…
“what’s it like to teach 6th grade?”
“like herding kittens.”

Ken gives us the gift of imagery. I imagine he thinks in poetic thoughts.

sun high in the blue
water sparks and squints past green
fields this is our land

Liza needs some respite. So do I. How come I doubt neither of us will be getting it anytime soon?

Crisp and cool fall air
Insane deadlines and too much work
I long for a break

Crazy busy people … all of us, right? Anne captures that in her haiku.

My week was crazily busy,
Simulating and fun,
Yet wearying and energy zapping.

Ahhh. Report card time? (We moved from trimesters to twice-year report cards, but I remember this time of filling out report cards all too well). Good luck, James.

Forever marking
Never finishing the job
Report card time’s hard

I love the sounds here in Eric’s poem.

Pitter, patter, rain
Overcast shrinking daylight.
Winter is coming.

Stacey feels as if she has gone overboard, but hey … it’s for the kids.

After school I went
to Attleboro and bought
too much for my kids.

Thanks to everyone who participated!

Peace (in syllables),
Kevin

2 Comments
  1. Ahhh Haiku, intimidating. Natalie Goldberg did it to me when she demanded a wow in the last line. I’m scarred. But I’m glad to read the poets who can run wild.
    Bonnie

  2. Beautiful verse, everyone!

    Sorry there’s none from moi. Yes, we’re all “crazy busy”; I just can’t seem to capture it or contain it or even get a good sideways glance at it. “How do you catch a cloud and pin it down?”

    @ Bonnie: I think Natalie Goldberg may say your monkey brain has officially captured and taken hostage your haiku. 😛

    @ Kevin: Don’t you dare remove me from your mailing list! But, if you don’t mind, could you use some Draino on that closing aside? =)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *