How We Might Use Our iPod Touches

Itouch 8

Finally, it appears, our classroom set of iPod Touches may be ready for action. We received a small bit of grant money for the set of Touches, but then, we had to wait for a sync/charging station, and now, as far as I can tell, the devices are just about ready to roll.

In some ways, we had bad timing in the purchase of the Touches, because if we had waited a month, we could have gotten the upgraded versions with cameras and (I think) microphones embedded right into the units. Instead, we have the older versions. I would have loved the video, audio and image element.

Still, our push is to use the Touch devices in Science (the heart of the grant) but I am sure I am going to steal them from time to time for work in my Language Arts class. I am perusing the ideas here with Tom Barrett’s Ways to use the iPod Touch, which is a great resource.

I like the ideas of:

  • Collaborative flashcards
  • Collaborative stories
  • Google surveys
  • Type Drawing for visual stories (new one to me)
  • Martian App allows you to create an alien (and then your partner has to draw a replica based on descriptive language)
  • Story Kit for writing and publishing a book
  • Using iPadio for interviews and sharing at our blog (hmmm — I will need a little iPod microphone, though)

Peace (in the touch),
Kevin

2 Comments
  1. Simple works too: We have Words with Friends tournaments on Friday afternoons. The juniors do SAT review with Allen SAT (though there are lots of SAT apps). NPR’s Story Corps app is great for telling stories to each other. Don’t forget to add a Kindle or iBook reader to each one too. All of a sudden, they were TALKING about Macbeth! I am just starting too.

  2. Pingback: [Tips] iPod Touch Ideas and Tips for the Classroom | edu.Mac.nation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *