Multimedia Companions to Student Short Stories

I’m getting ready to dive into the adventure short stories that my students have written but I want to share out their use of Glogster.edu for creating “companion pieces” to their stories. This assignment was to learn about how to use the digital poster site and how to create a multimedia project that is an extension of their stories. I guided them on summary writing, setting, and protagonist/antagonist, and on the elements of design.

It’s been interesting to see their posters come together, particularly since I have not yet read most of the stories. Of course, I know a little of each story from our work in class, but not everything. The posters give intriguing hints. Now, I am thinking: what if the stories began on paper but then finished on a digital poster? (sort of like what Patrick Carmen has been doing with connecting his novels to media). The glog would be a final chapter of their short story, or the story might leave off in a cliffhanger to be resolved online?

Intriguing possibilities for next time ..

Here are some of the projects that have come to be completed. A fair number are almost done.
You need Flash plugin!

Peace (in the posters),
Kevin

PS — They also completed a bridge engineering project with Glogster, which I will share out tomorrow or Monday. They did a fine job on that assignment, too.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *