Connecting Digital Storytelling with Learning Standards

Later this week, I am going to be spending the day with another elementary school in the region, working with students in some classrooms while teachers observe and then presenting to the whole staff later in the day. My presentation is about digital storytelling, which is a great theme for an entire school to adopt, and about how digital storytelling builds on much of the learning already underway and connects to our new state curriculum standards (ie, Common Core).

Here is a version of my presentation.

 

Do you notice any glaring holes? Any suggestions? Input?

Peace (in the sharing),
Kevin

 

6 Comments
  1. I like your presentation, Kevin. It answers all the questions people ask me about digital storytelling whenever I bring it up at my school. I particularly like the”Rationale” slide. I hope to be there for your presentation this week.

  2. Kevin
    I wish I could say I will be there for the presentation but its a bit far. However have just followed your prezi through. As a middling newbie to digital storytelling I would be asking about software and what equipment you use.

    And to that end what online software would you use for the Google digital storytelling in your prezi as I would like to explore that.

    So you are not just reaching an audience of teachers in your area but in other places as well. I so love the power of the internet. Thanks for all the work you do and share.
    Kathryn
    NZ

  3. Great overview, Kevin! I appreciate the first quote’s message that digital writing is not about fancy new tools and devices: it’s about the message kids will communicate more effectively through digital writing. Digital writing gives a new audience and an authentic purpose for writing.

    In your definition of digital storytelling I question whether it needs to include images, narration, music AND motion. I’d suggest and/or. A kindergartner contributing to a class book with one illustration narrated on Voicethread is doing digital writing (no music, no motion). Not everything has to be a video, unless that is the specific focus of your presentation.

    In the second bullet of the same “slide” where you rightfully emphasize storyboarding I’d suggest adding the words “writing process” so that teachers understand that students should still follow a writing process, with storyboarding as a drafting step. We don’t abandon what we know is good writing just because it’s digital writing.

    Finally a little typo in the Rational slide: connection.

    Good luck with your presentation. Let us know what you learned!

    • Thanks for the comments.
      I did a little revising, based on your thoughts (and thanks for the typo)
      Your point about the connection to writing process is right on, and one of my emphasis points to be made. The leap from what teachers are now doing to what they can do with digital media is not all that far.
      Kevin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *