Essays, Word Clouds and Loaded Words

A few of my students tried out the use of Word It Out to create word clouds of their persuasive essays. They were intrigued by the visual rendering of their essays, and I pointed out to them the question: if someone looked at your word cloud, would a viewer know the argumentative stance that you took in your essay based on the words in your cloud? (And it occurs to me now that this should be a required part of the essay project next year .. mental note)
The first one here is mine, which I shared as an example.
Fuel Cell Essay Wordcloud
Nuclear Power Essay Wordcloud
Frog Essay Wordcloud
Chimp Essay Wordcloud
Peace (in the loaded words),
Kevin

 

One Comment
  1. Pingback: My Squirrelly View of Education - My Weekly Diigo Bookmarks (weekly)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *