Choose Own Adventure Books: Likes and Dislikes

As some of you know, I am in the midst of trying something new. Two of my classes of students have spent a week reading Choose Your Own Adventure novels, and now will begin writing their own. I was amazed at how many books they were reading, and I did an informal survey to gather some numbers.

CYO Adventure Reading Survey

I also asked them about what they were liking and disliking about the books.

Likes:

  • The reader makes decisions about the story
  • There are many different ways that the stories can end
  • It’s entertainment reading
  • You can always backtrack into the story and start over at another point
  • The reader is a partner with the writer
  • The reader is a character in the story

Dislikes:

  • Too many story branches end in death
  • It’s easy to lose your place, particularly if you want to go back
  • The jumping around the book can be confusing
  • The novels are too short
  • Lots of exaggeration, unrealistic adventure
  • Not all the endings were equally creative
  • Not enough choice (!)

I’ll admit — that last one threw me, but I was the recorder of the discussion here.

Peace (in the endings),
Kevin

2 Comments
  1. Did they read a story individually? I have some low readers but I want to try this. Maybe I will give them the option and read to those that want me to read aloud.

    • Chris
      I had then pair up with someone (sometimes, I made the pairings) and read the story together as one reads a passage and the other makes the choice, and then switch. At that time, they also are mapping out all of the choices they make to visually show the story unfolding … Hope that helps …
      Kevin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *