Slice of Life: Notes from the Past

sols_6 (2)(This is for Slice of Life with Two Writing Teachers)

The other day, I shared out this digital story about our family’s tradition of writing notes to our future selves and stuffing them into glass ornaments. Yesterday, two ornaments broke, and a bunch of our messages spilled out. We huddled around, passing the little scrolls around, reading what we wrote to ourselves years ago.

Here are few things that were on the notes:

  • Our dog’s first Christmas, in which he was everywhere, full energy, wagging tail knocking things over
  • A scribbled one sentence from my son who was five at the time, saying hello
  • A gift wish note from another son, asking (please) for a plastic skunk for Christmas (don’t ask)
  • Two notes from my wife and I from the same year, in which my mom and my grandmother passed away
  • My own note of love to our future selves

We’ll work on this year’s notes soon enough, once the festivities settle down  bit. It’s a powerful tradition, though, writing as the heart of remembering and connecting the past to the present to the future.

Peace (to you),
Kevin

10 Comments
  1. As I said last year, I LOVE this tradition…..and if truth be told, we are doing something like this ourselves this year. Merry Christmas to you all and thank you for ALL the inspiration with writing – and with life!

  2. Kevin,
    Writing notes to be placed in the glass ornaments is a very unique tradition! I love the idea and with my whole family together this year for Christmas, I want to try it with them. Thanks for sharing your tradition!

  3. What a great tradition! We do something similar on Thanksgiving. We write what we are thankful for on 3×5 notecards. It has been fun to read them from the year before.

  4. What a beautiful tradition and your storytelling is magnificent. I played it again just so I could listen to you tell the story! Have a Merry Christmas!

  5. What a wonderful tradition! Thanks for sharing with the great video as well. This is a tradition we may begin at our house. Just little notes to the future! I love it!

    Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *