Into the Catacombs of Time: A MultiMedia Poem

This is part of poetry inspired by the Wonders of the World. Today, Mary Lee has us thinking about the Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa in Egypt. I wrote a poem, and then decided to use Popcorn Maker to add the visual and audio elements to the poetry.

I descend into the past
down stone steps
past ancient corners
through the rough artistry
of slaves bent on freedom
one floor
two floor
three floors deep
running my fingernails across the wall
as I walk slowly into history flanked by falcons
and the power of the sun into the hearts of men
until I reach the three coffins of rock
in this mound of shards,
wondering all the while whose bones
sleep amid all of this silent chaos.

Peace (in the deep),
Kevin

One Comment
  1. I am always in awe of the work you do. So many facets to it. Popcorn looks so fun to play with. Maybe over Spring Break I’ll play a bit with it. Thanks as always to you and your meanderings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *