Book Review: Best American Infographics 2014

Infographic on Infographics
I thought I would use the theme of Infographics to review a book about Infographics. The book is the second year of the Best American Infographics and like last year’s version, it is a wonderful read, chock full of amazing data representations. My infographic shows my interest level in the various articles in the collection. Not every scientific, I guess, but a good overview of what I thought as I was reading the collection (edited by Gareth Cook, with an introduction by Nate Silver).

What I like most is how surprised I am by some of the pieces, from the one where someone geotagged their cat as it wandered through their city block all day; to the way that a baseball looks for the batter, depending on the kind of pitch; to a map of every single reference to every single joke in the first seasons of Arrested Development; to the evolution of email in our lives; to the migration of birds and how the numbers are dropping; to whether a tweet was written by a human or twitter-bot. There are just too many cool infographics to even mention here.

But I did want to mention that the interactive infographics are online for perusing (Check out the drone attack/casualty chart … it will break your heart and open your eyes to the faraway battlefields).

I am also very curious about the free Map Stack tool that has been made available for anyone to use. It gets a whole page in the book, and the group that developed it got funding to give Map Stack away to journalists and others, to create data-centered mapping projects. I have no idea how to use it or why, but it seems worth the time to consider.

Peace (in the info),
Kevin

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *