Slice of Life: Sitting Down with Mike

(This is for the Slice of Life challenge for March, hosted by Two Writing Teachers. We are writing each day about the small moments in the larger perspective … or is that the larger perspective in the smaller moments? You write, too.)

sol16My friend, Michael Silverstone, has started up a monthly podcast series in which he is interviewing folks along a wide range of ideas … with creativity at the center. Michael is a teacher, musician, songwriter, published writer, and a colleague in the Western Massachusetts Writing Project. He asked if I would join him for a conversation for his First Saturday Podcast series, and we talked about writing, teaching, technology, kids and more.

These kinds of conversations, where someone asks you questions, give you an opportunity to evaluate our thinking, to reflect in the moment and peruse your view of the world, out loud. I did not know what questions Michael would be asking before I joined him, although I had some ideas given our similar paths, but I enjoyed the flow of the discussion as we sat in his living room.

The podcast (30 minutes long, just so you know) went live this weekend and I just got to listen to to it yesterday as I was getting my classroom ready for the school day. It’s an odd experience, to hear yourself like that, but I think we did a nice job of moving through important ground, even with my numerous “uhs” that peppered my thinking out loud.

Thank you, Michael, for inviting me into your podcast.

Peace (in the reflection),
Kevin

 

2 Comments
  1. Love it and hope I can return to this podcast. I think podcasts are great ideas and have participated in a few. But….thinking about using them in the classroom. Have you ever tried this? I know Brian Kelley has successfully used them. A little scary, Kevin, to be part of a live podcast and not know any of the questions ahead of time. I loved the part where you evaluated your performance – honest and sincere!

  2. This was great. I am teaching my kids how podcasting works. We are creating our own podcasts. I’m going to let them listen to some of this so they can get a feel for the conversational piece of it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *