Slice of Life/SmallPoems Day 9 (dogs in water)

(I am participating in the March Slice of Life challenge via the Two Writing Teachers site.  Slice of Life is the idea of noticing the small moments. I have been a participant for many years and each year, I wonder if I will have the energy to write every day. This year, I am going to try to coincide it with my daily poetry writing, and intend to compose small poems on small moments. We’ll see how it goes …)

Day Nine

Pause a second
to watch the dogs
in water, the cold
winter currents
not even a bother

only the ball matters

the shake shake shake
of fur in sun, water
droplets dancing, one
by one by one, and then
they’re off into the river

another dog on the run

Peace (spring — release),
Kevin

4 Comments
  1. We live the best of our lives in the pauses, don’t we. Or, in this case, the pawses. 🙂 Beautiful, vivid images.

  2. I like the cadence of the poem. Having the line “only the ball matters” stand alone emphasizes both the connection to the dogs and the dogs’ chasing the ball.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *