Slice of Life/SmallPoems Day 23 (seeds sleep)

(I am participating in the March Slice of Life challenge via the Two Writing Teachers site.  Slice of Life is the idea of noticing the small moments. I have been a participant for many years and each year, I wonder if I will have the energy to write every day. This year, I am going to try to coincide it with my daily poetry writing, and intend to compose small poems on small moments. We’ll see how it goes …)

Day Twenty Three

Sleep, seeds,
sleep; keep deep;
the spring’ll keep,
for cold is sure
still yet to come
and winter,
winter always creeps
back in to claim
the young

Note: We’ve been keen to noticing the flowers coming up, particularly as the virus shutdowns have us spending more time outside on walks. But now we see a Winter Storm Warning posted for today, with up to half a foot of snow possible — it’s one of those tricky-to-forecast fronts, with the temperatures hovering around freezing – so maybe more rain than snow, or maybe more snow than rain. But the bulbs need to get back into hiding!

Peace (expecting it),
Kevin

6 Comments
  1. May the snow be light and the return of winter brief. Flowers here seem committed already to spring’s arrival. Your poem has a soothing rhythm which I appreciate.

  2. The fickle dance of winter-spring
    Furrows my brow
    As I ponder the fate
    Of newly blossomed flowers.

    If only they were able
    To go back from whence they came
    Safely sheltered in their seedbeds
    To poke out once again
    When winter decides on its final farewell.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *