NaPoWriMo: Why Can’t I

(I am participating in National/Global Poetry Month as I continue to write small poems each morning. – Kevin)

Day Sixteen: Why Can’t I

Why can’t I
protect you?
Why can’t I
hold you
hug you
meet you
find you
in the quiet corner
of the classroom
with sad eyes,
shedding tears,
caught in confusion?
Why can’t I
comfort you
when you
need comfort most,
when your mood
has gone sour
and blue,
all of a sudden,
on you?
Why can’t I
do what it is
teachers
like us are
all driven
to do?
Why can’t I
reach you
when you
need me to?
Why?
Why can’t
I?

Listen: https://some.audio/5e9821ee28d3ee0fa9951020

Peace (why can’t we?),
Kevin

2 Comments
  1. Wow, I’m coming back to my blog and it doesn’t feel right without getting back to reading you, my friend after your big welcome back to me…
    So glad you have never left. I just found all my old blogs on Blogger, imagine.
    And what a beautiful poem to return to..
    Much Love to you,
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *