NaPoWriMo: The Seas of This Belief

(I am participating in National/Global Poetry Month as I continue to write small poems each morning. – Kevin)

Day Twenty Two: The Seas of This Belief

Keep the peace,
Poseidon, keep
the peace

For while the Greeks conjured you
with stories of jealousy and lust,
an angry ocean god
with trident arms

I remained, forever,
a protector of the innocent
from such tirades,
your moods of spite

Neither whirlpool nor
tidal surge nor riptide
nor dead sea rising
shakes faith of possibility

Only poets know of me –
the poets, they dream of me –
the unspoken guardian
of the ocean deep, the seas
of belief

Keep the peace,
Poseidon, keep
the peace, or reckon
the world with me

Note: This is the last prompt for the Water Poems Project that I have been doing in tandem with my daily poetry this month, with Laura Shovan. This prompt was to write a poem of the ocean goddess.

Peace (in hubris),
Kevin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *