Music from the Pandemic: I Ain’t Moving (From This Easy Chair)

Along with teaching, reading, parenting and all that, I’ve been making time to play guitar and fiddle with sound loops, making music. I’m going to share some of it out now and then.

This three-chord bluesy song – I Ain’t Moving (From My Easy Chair) — is no doubt inspired from some listening to John Prine and how he used humor in his songwriting. I was hoping to capture some of the oddities observations of the times, and the character’s sense of being alone and being left alone. I hope you’re OK.

I Ain’t Moving (From My Easy Chair)

Is it a Monday?
or is it a Sunday?
I seem to lose track of time

Is it morning?
Or is it evening?
I’m sure I’m losing my mind

No, I ain’t moving from my easy chair
tell the world, I disappeared
You can’t move me if I don’t care
tell the world that I disappeared

Is that a news show?
Is this a game show?
I don’t know the truth anymore

When home is the work site
and work is the home life
I pull the plug and shut the door

Chorus

When the food is gone
and the cupboards bare
and I’ve chewed through every box that was there

Still I won’t go
I’m hanging on
I’ve got soup cans and dried beans somewhere

Chorus

Peace (rocking it on the chair),
Kevin

2 Comments
  1. Kevin, your song met me right in my living room. It’s where I’m at these days, too. It was great to hear your voice in the written and sung lyrics. Within the blur of this time and the questioning of truth, it’s easy to be immobilized. May we find a way to still fight for what sparks that fire beneath us. Peace and joy, my friend. Aram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *