Oh, Villanelle, You Ruin Me

Twist“Twist” by LostCarPark is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

As a morning poet, I find my footing most easily in free verse. That said, I also enjoy the challenge now and then of a poetry form that forces my hand. Over at OpenWrite today, the challenge was a Villanelle, which has rhyme schemes, syllable counting and repetition. Dylan Thomas has a famous one.

Here is what I came up with.

Yes, I’m obsessed with morning poems
with cracking words like combination lock
before the day’s ideas scatter, blown

by odd winds of origins, unknown,
as detectives, writers scour the block –
Yes, I’m obsessed with morning poems

Not all rhymes we find ring out like phones
some sing false, and others, falter like stock
before the day’s ideas scatter, blown

through corners where wonder’s what we own
and our quiet voices, just talk – talk – talk
Yes, I’m obsessed with morning poems

perched with pen in quiet morning home
I scribble, erase, often have to walk
before the day’s ideas scatter, blown

Each verse, a kite, high in sky, alone
not able to remain stable, aloft,
for I’m obsessed with morning poems
before these ideas get scattered and blown

Peace (and poems),
Kevin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *