Fifteen Days In (Winter Solstice Poems)

winter solstice
winter solstice flickr photo by nosha shared under a Creative Commons (BY-SA) license

I’ve been writing Winter Solstice poems each day this month, using mentor texts as my inspiration. Here is today’s poem (and take a listen to my audio):

The lantern swinging
bearing down, pressing the dark
to a sliver …
– Tobi Kassim

I am imagining
pinpricks

small darts
of glittering light

Stories unfolding
where context
is everything

And I – I know
nothing

I am reader, observer,
listener, writer

and there he is,
penning his way through
another constellation
altogether

I weather the uncertainty
and wonder if he, too,
sees my light

Inspired by A Blind Spot, Awash by Tobi Kassim
https://poets.org/poem/blind-spot-awash 

To see the entire collection as I am building it, here is the link. And note that the mentor poems comes from Deanna’s collection for writing inspiration.

Peace (and dark and light),
Kevin

One Comment
  1. Thank you so much for this generous extension and conversation with my work! What a heartening discovery in the strangely-desolate landscape of writing and publishing. And such beauty too, in your “small darts/of glittering light”

    Thank you for sharing these solstice words and images. Happy writing!
    Tobi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *