Deepening Connections: Teacher Ranger Teacher Program

The National Parks Service

Although I have been connected through my work with the Western Massachusetts Writing Project to the Springfield Armory National Historic Site (through facilitation of youth writing camps, professional development for educators, the Write Out initiative each October , and more), this summer I am going to be getting a little deeper into the workings of this Western Massachusetts National Park site.

I was selected to take part in the NPS Teacher Ranger Teacher program, which is an intensive summer of work exploring place-based learning and spending time at the Springfield Armory to learn more about the myriad of aspects that go into a place with deep historical roots to our country (as its first federal arsenal). There will also be a project that I will be developing for the site.

Part of the work is a graduate level course through the University of Colorado: Denver and I am looking forward to the place-based and park-based activities.

Learn more about the TRT program.

Peace (and learning),
Kevin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *