Teaching Design Elements: Problems of Text, Color, Image, Conflict

This is not the first lesson around design that I have done with my students, but our Haiku project has brought to the surface the need to remind and re-teach some basic Design Principles when it comes to merging text (in this case, poems) and images, via Google Slides.

This presentation is what I shared yesterday in class and used as a talking point as students got down to work. I tried to integrate three hints for them to use to make their project more design-friendly. Too many of my young digital poets find busy images to use or bury their text into the slide or don’t consider color combinations.

I want them to see the work as art, as much as writing. Design comes into play with that lens.

Peace (in the mess),
Kevin

 

 

2 Comments
  1. The principles of layout and design are a challenge at every level. It serves your students well that you introduce these ideas early enough that they have a chance to practice before “needing” the skill.

    Thanks, as always, for sharing beyond the classroom walls.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *