Day Two: 30poems30days

Poet’s note: This is the second day of my 30Poems in 30Days challenge. I wrote this poem, trying to think of the infrastructure of the digital world and using that idea as a sort of metaphor for a relationship.

If you were One and I was Zero,
we could inhabit the architecture
that holds up everything digital …

If you were One,
you could stand tall
enough to let the information
balance in your head;

If I was Zero,
I would be more than nothing;
I would stand in defiance
so that, in the emptiness,
there would be meaning;

If you were One and I was Zero,
inside this on-again/off-again mirror,
we’d prop up everything digital …

Listen to the podcast of the poem.

Peace (in ones and zeroes),

Kevin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *