Audio Slice of Life: The Two Young Engineers

Yesterday, I took my youngest son and his friend, and our dog, down to the river. The kids then proceeded to spend about an hour “building a dam/bridge” with rocks and sticks. They didn’t say damn bridge, by the way. They were clear this was a dam/bridge. Anyway, I took out my phone and called in a Slice of Life podcast from the river, using Cinch (a great app that allows for podcasting from your computer, your phone or your mobile device).

 

Peace (in the building of things),
Kevin

 

12 Comments
    • Yeah — I use Cinch with my students, too. We have the app version on the school iTouches, and it is just so simple to use and share (and embed) Good luck. Let me know if you need any pointers.
      Kevin

  1. What a cool slice- you always teach me lots about technology!! And what a cool dad to give them an hour or more to create like this…Makes me think of a line from a poem, I think it’s Eve Merriam, “It takes a lot of slow to grow.”

  2. I always read your posts and feel a mix of excitement and motivation to jump further into how I can use technology in my world – both work and play, and intimidation and the feeling of being overwhelmed and not knowing where to begin in the world of technological possibilities!

    In your podcast, specifically, I love how you named them “engineers”. I think calling children what they are, in real-world terms, is so healthy for them to build self-concepts that grow them into self-aware citizens! Your son, and his friend, are lucky to have your support!

  3. Loved the start, “Down to a river near our house. Which is mostly deserted right now.” I could just picture all of you there and the work the boys were doing.

    Most of all, I once again enjoyed another way to compose a message. I think the variety of your posts have been one of my highlights during this challenge. They’ve been a great reminder of the possibilities for creating and composing stories for others.

    This is another post I will pin as a mentor text to remind me of the possibilities. I think your students must be very lucky. I have a feeling “writing” in a variety of ways is something that happens often in your classroom.

    Thanks for sharing cinch. That was a bonus.

    Cathy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *